How Much Does the Subclass 836 Carer Visa Cost in 2026?
Explains the Subclass 836 two-instalment fee, family charges and possible health, police and biometric costs in 2026.
The 2026 subclass 836 carer visa cost cannot be reduced to one reliable all-in figure from the published guidance. As at July 2026, the Australian Department of Home Affairs’ Carer visa (Subclass 836) page states a “from” price for the main applicant, but its cost section displays no corresponding dollar amount. It confirms an extra charge for every family member who applies with the applicant and a two-instalment payment structure. The department’s Visa Pricing Estimator expressly excludes the second instalment and other costs, so its result is not a complete family budget.
This article provides general information, not personalised legal advice. Any amount actually payable should be checked against the current official figures and, for the second instalment, the invoice issued for the application.
How are the two instalments divided?
| Instalment | When payment is due | What the official guidance says |
|---|---|---|
| First instalment | When the application is lodged | For this paper visa, Home Affairs says it must be paid before the application is submitted and proof of payment included. |
| Second instalment | When Home Affairs asks for it | An invoice is sent after all other visa requirements have been met. If it is not paid, Home Affairs says it cannot grant the visa. |
The second instalment is therefore linked to the invoice request, not to a standard number of months after lodging. Home Affairs says demand for Other Family Visas exceeds the available places each year and processing can be lengthy, but the page does not publish a fixed date by which every applicant will receive this invoice.
Is the second instalment included in the “from” cost?
No. The “from” amount is only the starting point for the main applicant’s visa charge, and the Visa Pricing Estimator expressly excludes the second instalment. It can estimate the official visa cost, but not the total cash required for the application.
Home Affairs also says concessions apply in limited circumstances. The Carer visa (Subclass 836) page does not publish a dollar amount for the lower VAC.
How much does each included family member add?
Home Affairs states that there is an extra visa charge for each family member who applies with the applicant. It does not publish a separate dollar amount or an all-in family-unit total on the page.
Included family members must also meet the visa’s health and character requirements. The potential additional costs should therefore be considered separately from the extra visa charge, because an applicant may also need to pay for health examinations, police certificates or biometrics.
What other costs may arise?
The official cost guidance identifies several expenses that may apply to each applicant but are not included in the Visa Pricing Estimator:
| Possible cost | When it may arise | Amount published on the cited page |
|---|---|---|
| Health examination | Home Affairs will notify an applicant if a health examination is required | Not stated |
| Police certificates | Character documentation may be required, depending on where the applicant has lived | Not stated |
| Biometrics | Home Affairs may request fingerprints and a photograph | Not stated |
These items are possible rather than automatic for every applicant. Their cost also varies by applicant because document and examination requirements are assessed individually.
Australian police-certificate rules are particularly relevant to budgeting. An Australian Federal Police National Police Certificate is required where the applicant spent a total of 12 months or more in Australia during the past 10 years since turning 16. An overseas certificate is required for each country where the applicant spent at least 12 months in total during that period. Home Affairs accepts only complete-disclosure National Police Certificates for Australian immigration purposes and says they are valid for 12 months.
What about the Bupa medical certificate?
The person needing care must be assessed by Bupa Medical Visa Services, and the visa application must include evidence that this process has begun. If the medical certificate is not supplied when applying, it must be provided within three months; if it remains outstanding when the application is decided, the visa will not be granted.
This is separate from a visa applicant’s possible health examination. The official guidance does not state Bupa’s fee in the cost section.
Does the lower 2026 visa application charge apply?
From 1 July 2026, Home Affairs applies a lower visa application charge, or VAC, to eligible applicants who lodge a valid application. Eligibility is recognised through a valid passport issued by one of the following countries:
- Federated States of Micronesia
- Fiji
- Kiribati
- Nauru
- Palau
- Papua New Guinea
- Republic of the Marshall Islands
- Samoa
- Solomon Islands
- Timor-Leste
- Tonga
- Tuvalu
- Vanuatu
Included family members may also qualify where eligibility is based on the passport of the primary applicant or relevant visa holder who satisfies the primary visa criteria. Home Affairs applies the lower VAC through ImmiAccount, but the page does not publish the amount of the reduction. It describes this as a lower application charge and does not state that it reduces the second instalment.
Can the second instalment be reduced to nil in cases of severe hardship?
Home Affairs says it might consider reducing the second instalment to nil where payment is likely to cause severe financial hardship to the main applicant or the person being cared for. This is a discretionary provision, not an automatic entitlement, and the request must be made in writing.
The concession is not available for family members applying with the main applicant. Home Affairs expressly states that it will not reduce the second instalment for anyone included in the visa application as a family member.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is the second instalment?
The official page does not publish a separate dollar figure for the second instalment. Home Affairs sends an invoice after all other visa requirements have been met; normally, the amount in that invoice is the second-instalment charge, and the Visa Pricing Estimator does not calculate it.
When will I be asked to pay the second instalment?
Home Affairs sends the invoice after the applicant has met all other requirements for the visa. The published instruction links payment to that request rather than setting a standard payment period after the application date.
What happens if I do not pay the second instalment?
Home Affairs states that the visa cannot be granted if the second instalment is not paid. Any request to reduce it to nil for severe financial hardship must be made separately in writing and is subject to departmental consideration.
Does every family member have an extra visa charge?
Yes. Home Affairs states that each family member who applies with the main applicant attracts an extra visa charge. Family members must also meet the health and character requirements, and some may have additional examination, police-certificate or biometric costs.
What costs are excluded from the Visa Pricing Estimator?
The estimator excludes the second instalment and other costs, including health checks, police certificates and biometrics. Its result should therefore not be treated as an all-in budget for the visa and accompanying family members.
Can a family member have the second instalment reduced for hardship?
No. Home Affairs says the second instalment will not be reduced for anyone applying with the main applicant. The hardship provision is limited to the main applicant or the person being cared for.
Is the application fee refunded if the visa is refused?
Home Affairs states that the application fee is not refunded if the application is refused. The page does not state the refund treatment of separately incurred health, police, biometric or Bupa costs.